Patient Parents

IMG_1133blip

Its been a very different couple of months for us.   Since the birth of Leo we’ve been busy learning and relearning all the things we had forgotten since Amélie was born.   Its somehow the simple things that you forget about, the broken sleep, the number of things you have to remember to take with you when you leave the house, how difficult it is to fit a hat on a baby, creeping around at night and getting dressed and undressed in complete darkness.

Its been trying for all of us.   Joni is getting back to normal and managing to firm up a type of routine that will suit herself and the children, it doesn’t help when they are both out of sorts at the moment as they fight off a nasty cold.    I’m now back at work.  I miss them all.  Everyday.

As we approach Christmas, we have been trying to keep a lid on things and try to stay as patient as we can as parents.   Its been a difficult time for Amélie to adjust to a new member of the family, so she has had moments of extreme tantrums and odd behaviour.   I try to keep a cool head and be the gentleman / father that I’d love to be, but its difficult and sometimes I say things I don’t really mean, and instantly regret it all.    I long for the day when we can all be peaceful and patient with one another.

 

 

