Love Music?

So, some record labels have decided that its time to pull their material from the streaming service Spotify.   After reading this on twitter I looked into the article to find that its more than Spotify that is losing the catalogue of these ‘200’ labels: Napster, Simfy & Rdio are included also.

STHoldings said in a statement: “As a distributor we have to do what is best for our labels. The majority of which do not want their music on such services because of the poor revenues and the detrimental affect on sales. Add to that the feeling that their music loses its specialness by its exploitation as a low value/free commodity. Quoting one of our labels “Let’s keep the music special, fuck Spotify.””

Being a fully faithful paying member of the Spotify premium club, I’ll be sad if this signifies the beginning of the end for streaming music online legally.   On a personal note, since the birth of this great service and particularly since the offline syncing to your mobile device, I have been guilt free of downloading music illegally from torrent sites and other ‘dodgy websites’.   I think Spotify has been a great catalyst of combating piracy.

Now for the crux, I do feel that artists should be paid fairly for their creative output and after reading how little artists actually make from their music being streamed online through these services, it does not surprise me that labels and artists are a bit worried, however in this case its the distribution companies that are worried – and so they should be! Music is changing, the way we ‘consume’ music is changing and the way we share music is changing, distribution must change!

Lastly, the streaming of your work is not the only revenue stream you have as a creative person, especially in terms of music.   The number of knock on effects from hearing something online is completely outstanding.   I can’t begin to count the number of artists that I now listen to, go out to see live, buy merchandise from and tell others about through facebook, twitter, word of mouth because I heard about them firstly on Spotify.

I hope labels see the whole picture of this and don’t feel they have to jump on to the bandwagon and pull their music from this excellent service.

I thought this was a suitable link for you to listen to as you read this blogpost  – if you have Spotify that is. . . if not email me and I’ll be sure to invite you ;-)

