Piano Drop

I have just came from my morning music production workshop with the young people I teach; mainly a combination of Ableton Live & Garageband.  Its a beautiful Autumn day in Glasgow and as I write I have a generous bowl of cream of Broccoli soup and a crusty roll in front of me.

I have just been into Tramway 1 to see Piano Drop by Raydale Dower.   Its an installation that pretty much does what it says on the tin, its a film with ambisonic sound of a an upright piano being dropped from the ceiling of the Tramway.   On entering the exhibition space, there is a uneasy feeling in your gut that must be deliberate, for me this was the due to the fact I thought the piano was actually being lowered very slowly in the space and so you could see and possibly touch the actual piano and a small part of me was frightened that I might actually walk underneath it.   Once you enter the space you are plummeted into complete darkness with no direction and no light to guide you (except the large screen at floor level displaying the film).   I sat on the floor and watched the piano fall to pieces at the varying speeds and slight angles.   It was visually very good.  For me being a person more interested in the sonic aspects of the installation I thought it was slightly disappointing.   I wanted more reverberation, more depth, more something.   As a film its a great spectacle, even funny at points.   But if I had the chance to do it, I’d drop the piano from a great height into a cavernous space, tunnel, pit of microphones at differing heights, just something that would have more exciting audio.   On a side note, it actually feel quite weird the whole thing as I have been listening to Tim Hecker “Dropped Pianos and Nils Frahm’s “FELT” albums on repeat since I got a hold of them and have bee writing piano pieces for three weeks, perhaps thats what inspired me to come in the first place.

Anyway, back to my soup!

